SynErgie II

Synchronized and energy-adaptive production technology for flexible alignment of industrial processes to a fluctuating energy supply

SynErgie II

Within the scope of the Kopernikus project SynErgie (Synchronized and energy-adaptive production technology for the flexible alignment of industrial processes to a fluctuating energy supply), the Federal Ministry of Education and Research is funding around 60 partners from science, industry and civil society. The project group Business & Information System Engineering of Fraunhofer FIT in Augsburg and Bayreuth as well as the University of Augsburg, the Augsburg University of Applied Sciences and the University of Luxembourg are significantly involved in this project. The second of a total of three planned funding phases is currently underway with a funding volume of around 30 million euros. The first funding phase from 2016 to 2019 has already been successfully completed.

The future of energy

SynErgie is one of the nationwide projects within the funding initiative of Kopernikus projects for the energy transition. The project is dedicated to the question of how a flexible alignment of industrial processes to a fluctuating energy supply can balance the electricity system. In tomorrow’s electricity system, the supply of electricity will no longer follow the demand for electricity as it has been in the past. Therefore, energy-intensive industries in particular must learn to use electricity when it is available and inexpensive and to dispense with it when it is scarce and expensive. In this way, the demand for electricity can be adapted to the fluctuating supply of electricity.

The SynErgie consortium includes our project group at Fraunhofer FIT and the Fraunhofer Institute for Casting, Composite and Processing Technology (IGCV), two renowned research institutes from Augsburg. Throughout Germany, another 20 research institutes from the RWTH Aachen University, the universities of Bayreuth, Darmstadt, Karlsruhe, Cologne and Stuttgart to the Technical University of Munich are participating in the consortium. In addition, 40 industrial companies from the energy-intensive industry are involved in the project.

Name SynErgie II
Funding Federal Ministry of Education and Research
Project management Project Management Jülich (PtJ)
Funding program Kopernikus
Funding number according to notification 03SFK3C3-2
Start November 2019
End October 2022
Project duration 3 years (in the second of intended three funding phases)
Project lead Prof. Dr. Hans Ulrich Buhl

Prof. Dr. Hans Ulrich Buhl

Chair of Business Administration, Information Systems, Information & Finance Management

An interdisciplinary consortium

Overall, the consortium stands out from other initiatives due to its synergetic composition of leading research institutions, companies from the most important energy-intensive industries, electricity market representatives, IT providers and representatives of civil society. This holistic composition not only enables transdisciplinary research into new fundamentals, but also supports the industrial implementation and social acceptance of the solutions developed. Thus, the project will identify key industrial processes that can be used to compensate for fluctuating energy supplies by adjusting their energy requirements. In addition, efficient flexibilization methods and technologies for key industrial processes are being developed and tested in pilot plants. To this end, approaches from information and communication technology are also being used to control the supply and demand balance in the electricity grid. The focus here is on connecting the individual players (e.g. electricity producers, aggregators, electricity consumers, electricity network operators or forecasting service providers) with the help of information systems to enable automated adjustment of electricity consumption. The vision here is a continuous control of energy demand from the PV module or wind turbine to the production process. Finally, for the best possible monetization of industrial demand flexibility, decision support systems will be developed for companies and challenges for a promising market design 2030-2050 will be analyzed and possible design options will be developed.

Augsburg as pilot region

A special feature of the Kopernikus project SynErgie is the energy flexible pilot region Augsburg. Here, more than 20 local institutions have joined forces to investigate the behavior of energy-flexible consumers as well as the effects of a flexible alignment of industrial processes on the Augsburg region and to evaluate them under consideration of municipal conditions, opportunities, risks and consequences. In this way, key factors for the successful use of demand flexibility are derived. On the basis of the results obtained from the Augsburg pilot region, the possibility of transfer to other regions is also being investigated, which is why the Augsburg location deserves a significant pioneering role in the energy transition.

Special thanks are due to the Federal Ministry of Education and Research and the Jülich project management organization.

SynErgie | Start of the second Funding Phase

The Kopernikus project "SynErgie" enters the second funding phase.

Find out more in the video!

SynErgie | End of the first Funding Phase

The results of the first funding phase have now been published.

SynErgie II

Synchronisierte und energieadaptive Produktionstechnik zur flexiblen Ausrichtung von Industrieprozessen auf eine fluktuierende Energieversorgung

SynErgie II

Im Rahmen des Kopernikus-Projekts SynErgie (Synchronisierte und energieadaptive Produktionstechnik zur flexiblen Ausrichtung von Industrieprozessen auf eine fluktuierende Energieversorgung) fördert das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung rund 60 Partner aus Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Zivilgesellschaft. Die Projektgruppe Wirtschaftsinformatik des Fraunhofer FIT (PGWI) in Augsburg und Bayreuth sowie die Universität Augsburg, die Hochschule Augsburg und die Universität Luxemburg sind maßgeblich an diesem Projekt beteiligt. Derzeit läuft die zweite von insgesamt drei geplanten Förderphasen mit einem Fördervolumen von rund 30 Millionen Euro. Die erste Förderphase in den Jahren 2016 bis 2019 wurde bereits erfolgreich abgeschlossen.

Die Zukunft unserer Energie

SynErgie ist dabei eines der bundesweiten Projekte im Rahmen der Förderinitiative Kopernikus-Projekte für die Energiewende. Das Projekt widmet sich der Frage, wie eine flexible Ausrichtung von Industrieprozessen auf eine fluktuierende Energieversorgung das Stromsystem ausgleichen kann. Im Stromsystem von Morgen wird dabei nicht mehr wie bisher das Stromangebot der Stromnachfrage folgen. Daher muss insbesondere die energieintensive Industrie lernen, den Strom dann zu nutzen, wenn er vorhanden und kostengünstig ist und auf ihn zu verzichten, wenn er knapp und teuer ist. Auf diese Weise kann die Stromnachfrage an das fluktuierende Stromangebot angepasst werden.

An dem Konsortium SynErgie sind mit der PGWI sowie dem Fraunhofer Institut für Gießerei-, Composite- und Verarbeitungstechnik (IGCV) zwei renommierte Forschungseinrichtungen aus Augsburg maßgeblich beteiligt. Deutschlandweit wirken an dem Konsortium noch 20 weitere Forschungseinrichtungen von der RWTH Aachen über die Universitäten Bayreuth, Darmstadt, Karlsruhe, Köln und Stuttgart bis zur TU München mit. Daneben sind 40 Industrieunternehmen aus der energieintensiven Industrie am Projekt beteiligt.

Kurzbezeichnung SynErgie II
Förderung Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF)
Projektträger Projektträger Jülich (PtJ)
Förderprogramm Kopernikus
Fördernummer laut Bescheid 03SFK3C3-2
Start November 2019
Ende Oktober 2022
Projektdauer 3 Jahre (in der zweiten von vrstl. drei Förderphasen)
Projektleitung Prof. Dr. Hans Ulrich Buhl

Prof. Dr. Hans Ulrich Buhl

Lehrstuhl für BWL, Wirtschaftsinformatik, Informations- & Finanzmanagement

Ein interdisziplinäres Konsortium

Das Konsortium hebt sich insgesamt durch seine synergetische Zusammensetzung aus führenden Forschungseinrichtungen, Anwenderunternehmen der wichtigsten energieintensiven Branchen, Strommarktvertretern, IT-Anbietern und Vertretern der Zivilgesellschaft von anderen Initiativen ab. Diese ganzheitliche Zusammensetzung ermöglicht nicht nur eine transdisziplinäre Erforschung neuer Grundlagen, sondern unterstützt insbesondere auch die industrielle Umsetzung und gesellschaftliche Akzeptanz der erarbeiteten Lösungen. So werden im Rahmen des Projekts industrielle Schlüsselprozesse identifiziert, die mittels einer Anpassung ihres Energiebedarfs für einen Ausgleich der fluktuierenden Energieversorgung genutzt werden können. Daneben werden für industrielle Schlüsselprozesse effiziente Flexibilisierungs-Verfahren und -Technologien entwickelt und anhand von Demonstrationsanlagen getestet. Zu diesem Zweck werden auch Ansätze aus der Informations- und Kommunikationstechnik zur Steuerung des Angebots- und Nachfrageausgleichs im Stromnetz genutzt. Im Fokus steht hierbei die Vernetzung der einzelnen Akteure (bspw. Stromerzeuger, Aggregatoren, Stromverbraucher, Stromnetzbetreiber oder Prognosedienstleister) mithilfe von Informationssystemen, um eine automatisierte Anpassung des Stromverbrauchs zu ermöglichen. Die Vision ist dabei eine durchgängige Regelung der Energienachfrage vom PV-Modul oder Windrad bis hin zum Produktionsprozess. Schließlich werden für eine bestmögliche Vermarkung von industrieller Nachfrageflexibilität Entscheidungsunterstützungssysteme für Unternehmen entwickelt sowie Herausforderungen für ein zukunftsträchtiges Marktdesign 2030-2050 analysiert und darauf aufbauend mögliche Gestaltungsoptionen erarbeitet.

Augsburg als Modellregion

Eine Besonderheit des Kopernikus-Projekts SynErgie ist die energieflexible Modellregion Augsburg. Hier haben sich mehr als 20 lokale Einrichtungen zusammengeschlossen, um das Verhalten von energieflexiblen Verbrauchern sowie die Auswirkungen einer flexiblen Ausrichtung von Industrieprozessen auf die Region Augsburg zu untersuchen und unter Berücksichtigung kommunaler Gegebenheiten, Chancen, Risiken und Folgen zu bewerten. So werden zentrale Faktoren für einen erfolgreichen Einsatz von Nachfrageflexibilität abgeleitet. Auf Basis der in der Modellregion Augsburg gewonnenen Ergebnisse wird zudem die Möglichkeit einer Übertragung auf weitere Regionen untersucht, weshalb dem Standort Augsburg eine wesentliche Vorreiterrolle in Bezug auf die Energiewende gebührt.

Ein besonderer Dank geht an dieser Stelle an das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung sowie an den Projektträger Jülich.

SynErgie | Start der zweiten Förderphase

Das Kopernikus-Projekt "SynErgie" startet in die zweite Förderphase.
Mehr erfahrt ihr im Film!

SynErgie | Abschluss der ersten Förderphase

Die Ergebnisse der ersten Förderphase sind jetzt veröffentlicht.